Home Fixtures Results History Gallery Links FAQ's





Fr. Caseys GAA - Club History

Prior to the foundation of the GAA in 1884, athletics and Gaelic football were being practised in Abbeyfeale under the guidance of our patriot priest Fr. William Casey. Abbeyfeale was one of the first clubs in Ireland to register under the rules of the GAA and continuously since then Abbeyfeale has never failed to participate fully in the games, administration and activities of the GAA.

One of the first big games under the auspices of the Limerick County Board was in 1891 when Abbeyfeale played Doon in Croom. The team and supporters traveled to the game by special train to Patrickswell and walked the six miles to Croom led by the Abbeyfeale Brass Band. Since the above epic game Abbeyfeale has been successful at all levels of competition and has contributed many great players to county teams.

Fr. Caseys / Abbeyfeale have won the Limerick Senior Football Championship on a total of 8 occasions. The first Senior Football Title won by the club was in 1914. This title was retained again in 1915. 1932 saw Fr. Caseys / Abbeyfeale capture the Limerick Senior Football Title for a third time. The 1940's was an extremely successful period for the club winning the County Senior Football Championship on 3 occasions namely 1941, 1942 and 1947. It would be a 53 year wait until Fr. Caseys / Abbeyfeale again tasted County Senior success.

In 2000 under the captaincy of Liam Galvin, Fr. Caseys defeated Drom/Broadford by a single point to capture the County Title for a seventh time. Prior to the 2000 Senior Football Final Fr. Caseys had enjoyed numerous underage successes which were undoubtedly a catalyst for the 2000 victory. 1991 was a particularly memorable year for the club, winning Minor, U21 and Intermediate County Titles. At Senior level the 1990's saw much heartbreak for Fr. Caseys, losing four Senior Football Finals in 1994, 1995, 1996 and 1998.

2006 saw Fr. Caseys win the County Title for an eighth time. Captained by Andrew Scanell, Fr. Caseys defeated St. Senans by 2 points. A major catalyst for this victory was undoubtedly the underage successes prior to 2006. 2004 saw Fr. Caseys captured their fifth Minor Football Title while our U21's were also crowned West Limerick Champions in the same year. In addition to Senior success, 2006 also saw Fr. Caseys captured the County Minor, County U16, West U21 and West Junior A League crowns.